A Retrospective: Live On Location – Mauritius Day 8

Last Christmas, I swapped turkey and tinsel for coves and curries with a two-week tripette to Mauritius. While I was there I kept a travel journal for the holiday company Thomson. Here’s what I got up to on the second leg of my fortnight in paradise…

Day Trippin’

I decided to kick off week two with a guided tour of the island. But banish any thoughts you might have about hoards of holidaymakers being ferried around in coaches. This was an excursion with a difference. I decided to road test one of Thomson’s private driver-guide tours. In a nutshell, you get your very own car, plus a guide who doubles up as your chauffeur for the day. The guide plans out an itinerary with you, so you can tick off the the bits of the island you want to see. For me that included this little lot…

1. Trou aux Cerfs

Trou aux Cerfs

Trou aux Cerfs

2. Grand Bassin

Grand Bassin

Grand Bassin

3. Black River Gorge

Black River Gorge

Black River Gorge

4. 7-Colour Earth

7-Colour Earth

7-Colour Earth

5. Chamarel Waterfall

Chamarel Waterfall

Chamarel Waterfall

Oh, and PS, how could I forget this big fella…

Giant Tortoise

Giant Tortoise

Click here to read my full diary entry on the Thomson blog. 

Leave a Reply

