Blogging, Ugg Boots & Britney

Disco Ugg boots

Disco Ugg boots

Let’s be clear. I don’t like the word blog. No, scratch that – I LOATHE it. In fact, I’m not a fan of anything that ends in ‘og’. It sounds so Neanderthal and ape-like. That probably explains my deep-seated hatred for the word Ugg, too. That, and the fact those boots are fundamentally hideous. I don’t care how comfy they are, they hurt my eyes. Clue’s in the name, I guess. Anyhow, I digress…

So this is my first-ever blog. Actually, that’s not entirely true. I’ve written blog posts before but on a professional basis for work. But this is the first time I’ve ever done it as, well, me. I wonder how I’ll take to it? I’m hoping it’ll last longer than my brief dalliance with Twitter which faltered after about two weeks.

140 characters didn’t exactly leave me feeling emotionally enriched in any way. And I began to lose my temper with Britney Spears‘s command of grammar. What’s more I dislike text speak almost as much as I do Ugg boots. Which is saying something. Twitter’s only saving grace was Wincey Willis. Her updates were brilliant – especially on a Friday night when she’d sunk one glass of pinot too many.

So, let’s see how I get on with blogging. I’d be interested to see what you guys think about it. Strangely addictive or yet another passing social media fad a la Friendster and Myspace?

3 thoughts on “Blogging, Ugg Boots & Britney

  1. Come back to Twitter! I’ll help you follow only funny and eloquent people with a beautiful command of English.

  2. Like! No like twitter.

  3. But who are the eloquent people on Twitter? I need to know!

Leave a Reply

